Thinking about ICT

After completing the ‘is this an ICT’ activity, that activity definitely encouraged me to think about the deeper meaning of ICT that I am not aware of. ICT ICT… I understand that ICT stands for Information and Communication Technology. To me, ICT is about the technology tools that we use on daily basis such as mobile phones, tablets, computers etc. to communicate with outside world and receive information from the outside world. I think to myself, is it just that? I have never truly understand the meaning of ICT as a whole. I am certain that there are deeper meanings/understanding that I do not know. So, first I googled it.

According to this website, “Information and communications technology (ICT) refers to all the technology used to handle telecommunications, broadcast media, intelligent building management systems, audiovisual processing and transmission systems, and network-based control and monitoring functions.”

or ICTs are defined as a “diverse set of technological tools and resources used to communicate, and to create, disseminate, store, and manage information.” These technologies include computers, the Internet, broadcasting technologies (radio and television), and telephony.

I have also searched ICT in Education, which I think provide some useful information regarding ICT. This website also listed some advantages and disadvantages of using ICT in Education.

Now that I have learnt more about ICT, I will continue to think in a deeper level in the context where I can or how I will utilise ICT into my teaching.

Christina

 

Leave a Reply

